Use of SEO and Keywords

SEO is a very interesting feature to look into when creating a website for a business. It stands for Search Engine Optimisation,  and it simply is the task of scoring higher hits when searching with a search engine, such as Google. I enjoy the way Search Engine Land (2016) explains SEO, “All major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo have primary search results, where web pages and other content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users.“.

One of the main ways of creating more hits/getting higher up on the Google searches is by implementing keywords into the website’s main page, or in the introduction. Below, I have put together a large list of things that I, and my friends, usually search for when looking for a bike store. Obviously these words would be combined, as ‘Road’ alone would not bring back anything I would be interested in, but ‘Road bikes’ would.

  • Bike
  • Bikes
  • Mountain bike
  • Road bike
  • Downhilling
  • Downhill
  • DH
  • Road
  • Bike gear
  • Bike stuff
  • Road cycling
  • Mountain cycling
  • Dirt
  • Mountains
  • Race
  • Racing
  • Gear
  • Road clothing
  • Protection
  • Protective gear
  • Mountain bikes 2016
  • Mountain bikes 2015
  • Road bikes 2016
  • Road bikes 2015
  • MTB

With all of these keywords, I have a large array of words which the audience could type in and increase the chances of ending up on the Controll website. At the moment, if we look at the screenshots below, I have got very few of these words within my website.

So how do I fix this? With SEO, it searches the text within a web page and tries to find any keywords that the user has searched for within a web page. The higher word count match, the more likely the user will see your webpage on the top of the list, or at least the first page (who looks at any other pages when searching?). Of course, at the moment I have created paragraphs which make sense, even if they lack the content for a SEO. So we need to get the magic combination on the home page and about page where the webpage will likely appear higher up on the search engine, whilst also making sure everything on the web page makes sense.

To improve the SEO, I am going to use a plugin named Yoast SEO, by Joost de Valk (2016). This plugin helps to make sure that my keywords are also found within the text on a page. This will help me to increase my SEO for the website. It helps by setting out a user interface of traffic lights. If the traffic lights are red, then you can expect that webpage to get pretty low on a search engine. However, get amber or green, and you will be moving your way to the front page!

When I began, I lacked a lot of keywords, and very little text for my pages to be acknowledged by a search engine. I was also given a red light by Yoast! But now, I am on a steady amber on both of these pages. I do not wish to go any further with the SEO, as it will start to disrupt my web page flow with regard to reading them. I also want to keep the front page minimal, with very little text. But I have added alt-text to the images which help to increase the SEO score, and a much higher amount of relevant keywords, too! (I also added the promotional video on the front page with relevant SEO tags!)

 

References

Search Engine Land (2016) What Is SEO / Search Engine Optimization? Search Engine Land [online] available from: http://searchengineland.com/guide/what-is-seo  [accessed 11/03/16]

J. de Valk (2016) Yoast SEO [Online]. Available from: https://wordpress.org/plugins/wordpress-seo/ [Accessed 11/03/16]

 

Leave a Reply

